Any Ponce Inlet residential property owner who rents their dwelling unit for any period of time is required to obtain a Rental Permit prior to renting, pursuant to Ordinance No. 2003-03, as amended, and codified under Section 3.18 of the Town of Ponce Inlet Land Use and Development Code.
A completed rental application must be submitted and approved by the Town's Planning and Development Department.
An application fee of $125 is required with the permit application for all rentals, and an additional $50 fire inspection fee is required for short-term rentals.
All properties in Ponce Inlet are allowed to be rented on a long-term basis with proper permits from the Town. A long-term rental is defined as a rental period of 28 consecutive days or more. A short-term rental is defined as a rental period of less than 28 consecutive days.
Short-term rental of any single-family dwelling is prohibited in Ponce Inlet.
Short-term Rental Locations
Only the specific condominium buildings listed below are zoned to allow rental on a short-term basis, subject to proper permitting by the Town:
- Southpoint 4453 S. Atlantic Ave.
- Towers 1 4545 S. Atlantic Ave.
- Towers 2 4535 S. Atlantic Ave.
- Towers 3 4525 S. Atlantic Ave.
- Towers 4 4555 S. Atlantic Ave.
- Towers 5 4565 S. Atlantic Ave.
- Towers 6 4575 S. Atlantic Ave.
- Lighthouse Shores 4745 S. Atlantic Ave.
- Antigua 4757 S. Atlantic Ave.
- Martinique 4767 S. Atlantic Ave.
Note: Please review the appropriate governing documents of your condominium to determine whether rentals are restricted in any manner. Issuance of a short-term rental license by the Town does not in any manner affect such restrictions.
Renting for 6 months or less requires a Florida Department of Revenue Sales Tax Number, per Chapter 212 of the Florida Statutes.
A valid and current license under Section 509.241, Florida Statutes, is required if the property is rented more than 3 times in a calendar year for periods of less than 30 days or 1 calendar month, whichever is less, or which is advertised or held out to the public as a place regularly rented to guests. See Chapter 509, Part I, of the Florida Statutes, for more information.
By February 1 of each year, all rental property owners or their representatives/agents must submit an annual report to the Town of all tenant activity, including the length of each rental period per tenant.
See Section 3.18 of the Town's Land Use and Development Code for further information, including property owner and tenant responsibilities.